Log in

Where Wound Healing Begins.

ACHM Achievements

The American College of Hyperbaric Medicine was founded to support the clinical applications of therapeutic oxygen in the care and treatment of patients with special focus on those patients with non-healing wounds. The ACHM presents yearly awards to select members of the College recognized for their significant contributions to the specialty of hyperbaric medicine.

The Eric P. Kindwall, MD Award of Excellence in Clinical Hyperbaric Medicine

The Award of Excellence is given in recognition to those professionals who have demonstrated a career-long commitment to hyperbaric medicine through excellence in education, application of therapy, research, forward-thinking, and leadership.

Prior Recipients:


    2018 E. George Wolf, MD, Col (ret) USAF, FUHM

    2017 Helen Gelly, MD

    2015 Keith Van Meter, MD, FACEP, FACHM

    2015 William Zamboni, MD, FACHM

    2014 Thomas Serena, MD, FACHM, MAPWCA

    2013 Caroline Fife, MD, FACHM, MAPWCA

    2012 Jeffrey A. Niezgoda, MD, FACHM, MAPWCA, CHWS

    2011 Robert Bartlett, MD, FACHM, MAPWCA

The Ken Locklear Visionary Award 

The Visionary Award is presented by the American College of Hyperbaric Medicine to an individual that has distinguished themselves by exhibiting dedication and passion to the field of hyperbaric medicine. In 2012 the Visionary Award was posthumously created, named after, and presented to Ken Locklear. Ken was an educator, an innovator, a leader, an entrepreneur and a true visionary in the field of hyperbaric medicine.

Prior Recipients:

    2018 Stephen R. Thom, MD, PhD

    2017 Allene Creacy

    2015 Ted Gurnee

    2014 Edgar Otto

    2013 Kevan Corsan, CHWS

    2012 Kenneth Locklear, CHWS

The Sharon Baranoski, MSN, RN, CWOCN, Award


The Sharon Baranoski Founder’s Award was presented at the Clinical Symposium on Advances in Skin & Wound Care. The award honors the overall pursuit of excellence in the field of skin and wound care. The award was created in honor of Sharon Baranoski, MSN, RN, CWOCN, founder and symposium director and was supported by an unrestricted educational grant from 3M Health Care.

Prior Recipients:

    2015 Jeffrey A. Niezgoda, MD, FACHM, MAPWCA, CHWS

    Barbara Bates-Jensen, PhD, RN, CWOCN

    Rita Frantz, PhD, RN, FAAN

    Janet Cuddigan, PhD, RN, CWCN

    Luther Kloth, MS, PT, CWS

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software